Jack Unzicker

Dr. Jack Unzicker, Assistant Professor of Double Bass at the University of Texas at Arlington, is an active educator, orchestral and chamber musician, soloist, and conductor. He has performed in Austria, Costa Rica, Hong Kong, Germany, Alaska, California, Louisiana, Kansas, Maine, Michigan, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Virginia, and Washington. Dr. Unzicker is currently the principal double bassist of the Plano Symphony Orchestra and has performed as principal of the AIMS Festival Orchestra (Graz, Austria), Caminos del Inka, Orquestra Divertimento (Costa Rica), Metropolitan Classical Ballet, Dallas Chamber, Dallas Wind Symphony, Lubbock Symphony Orchestras, and Caprock Pro Musica. He also performs with the Dallas Symphony, Fort Worth Symphony, Dallas Opera, and Santa Fe Pro Musica.

As an educator, Dr. Unzicker has taught on the faculties of Texas Tech University, Tarleton State University, Texas Woman’s University, North Texas Double Bass Camps, Hong Kong Youth Music Camp, and the Jack Unzicker Double Bass Workshop (Juneau, Alaska), and as a guest artist at The University of Oklahoma. He has performed and lectured at the International Society of Bassists, American String Teachers Association, and Texas Music Educators Association Conventions. Dr. Unzicker is featured in articles on playing and teaching the double bass in The Strad and Strings Magazine.

Dr. Unzicker received his Doctorate of Musical Arts, Master of Music Degree, and the Outstanding Graduate Student in Strings Award from the University of North Texas. He received his Bachelor of Music Degree, magna cum laude, and the College of Music Outstanding Graduate Award from Western Washington University. He has studied additionally at the Pierre Monteux School for Conductors and the Henry Mancini Institute. He has performed in master classes with François Rabbath, Paul Ellison, Christian McBride, Bertram Turetzky, Steven Tramontozzi, Matthew Zory, and Mark Burnat.  His teachers include Jeff Bradetich, Paul Sharpe, Anna Doak, Bill Clay, Lynn Seaton, and Chuck Israels.